An Englishman in New York

The Mets have an off-day and, more importantly, I have an off-day.

I’ve been kinda neglectful of my blog the last month, but here’s a quick run-down of what’s been going on.

4 weeks ago I finished my job at the Harrogate Advertiser where I had spent the last three years as a senior reporter. I had the cover story for my last ever edition which was quite nice too and I got some fantastic gifts from everybody there.

tiserpage.jpg

This was one of the gifts…
metsdvd.jpgFor the Mets fans out there, definitely check this out if you haven’t already. Later on in the season, I’ll write an actual review of this DVD, so keep your eyes peeled.

I had a going away party at work and a week later I came back for my stag party.

We went go-karting (I was rubbish)

karting.jpg
and later when we went out on a bar crawl, they made me wear a very nice dress.

stag.jpg

Two weeks ago I had a few leaving drinks with my family at the village near near my home

fam.jpgand then I finally moved permanently to New York to be with my fiance Lisa.

We are living in a quaint little neighborhood in Queens

Street.jpgand as well as being a tourist and taking photos of everything, we watched the 4th of July fireworks from the roof of our apartment.

fireworks.jpg
Plans are also afoot to go and see both the Mets and the Yankees, but I did go along to fireworks night at the Single-A Brooklyn Cyclones on Friday for their game against the Tri-City Valley Cats.

Keyspan Park is a gorgeous and intimate little ballpark in Coney Island next to the beach, backing on to the Atlantic Ocean.

Both teams played really well, but the Cyclones pulled out a rally in the bottom of the 9th inning, winning the game 3-2 on a bases-loaded walk-off single off the wall in left field.

No matter what the level, or what the team, this just proved that the magic of baseball can be seen anywhere, anytime. You don’t need to pay $150 for good seats to a great game.

Here are the pick of the pics I took down there…

game1.jpg
game2.jpg
game4.jpg

game3.jpg
The wedding is now less then 7 weeks away, so if I go MIA now and then, fear not, I am still here, but probably just very busy. And if you know of any writing gigs in NYC, you know where to find me.

Until then, keep working hard – I need your taxes 🙂

12 comments

  1. Amazin86er

    From the sound of your last two entrys you have been one busy guy with some life altering changes. Anyways good luck with everything. I became active in the MLBlogosphere once again and re-started the trivia contest which you did earn a point on my last question before I shutdown for a while. Stop by if you so wish and participate and good luck once again.

    ~Amazin86er
    http://the1constant.mlblogs.com/

  2. Amazin86er

    From the sound of your last two entrys you have been one busy guy with some life altering changes. Anyways good luck with everything. I became active in the MLBlogosphere once again and re-started the trivia contest which you did earn a point on my last question before I shutdown for a while. Stop by if you so wish and participate and good luck once again.

    ~Amazin86er
    http://the1constant.mlblogs.com/

  3. Jane Heller

    Very exciting about your upcoming wedding AND your trips to Citi Field and Yankee Stadium. I hope you enjoy living in your new ‘hood. I also hope you find a writing assignment that’s creatively stimulating and lucrative too!

    http://janeheller.mlblogs.com

  4. Fenway Bleacher Creature

    I’ll give an early congratulations on your wedding soon to come. It is the first time I checked out your blog, and I like it a lot.
    Great photos, it sounded like a great team. I also wrote a recent post with some pics about my visit to the Lowell Spinners A team a few weeks ago. My uncle is also a Cyclones fan and a regular at their games. A late Happy 4th to you and good luck with your blogging. Feel free to stop by my blog any time, I’ll appreciate it!

    http://the3rs.mlblogs.com/

  5. Marty_G

    OK, the Mets have seven weeks to improve in time for your wedding! Welcome to the US, from a fellow limey living here. Hope you like life here as much as I do, and good luck with the forthcoming wedding.
    Twins Limey

Leave a comment